Tags

, , , , , ,

In the online beauty community, there are certain products that have a cult following and you will see them mentioned again and again in blog posts, You Tube videos, and on sites like Beautylish.  I would venture to say that Revlon Colorstay Foundation is at the tippy top of this list.  People love it.  Like, loooove it.  It’s always in everyone’s monthly and year end favorites.  So when I started closely following the online beauty world I decided I would be a fool not to try this liquid gold….er, beige?….that everyone was raving about.

I was, to say the least, underwhelmed.  I had high hopes.  I wanted it to work, I really did.  But I felt like the staying power on me was just lousy.  I really could not understand what all the fuss was about.  I decided everyone in cyberspace was nuts and went and got my money back pronto.  I eventually decided to try MAC’s Pro Longwear Foundation and we began a great love affair, which we continue to this day.  That’s another story for another post.

My craptastic encounter with Revlon Colorstay happened at least two years ago I would say.  And you know what?  People still can’t shut up about it.  Beauty gurus and bloggers flashed it on their “Top Products of 2012” lists repeatedly.  The fact that I disliked it so much kept nagging at me.  That many people couldn’t be wrong, could they?  I believe in second chances so I thought I’d try just one more time.  God forbid people have something I don’t and that I’m not a part of the I Heart Revlon Colorstay Club.  Damn it.  So I scanned over the bazillion different shades until I found one that I thought would work and I took it home like a tiny, flesh toned beacon of hope.  The next day I smothered the goods all over my face, and what do you know?  I LOVED WHAT I SAW.  The coverage was amazing, and the Combo/Oily formula kept my skin matte.  This is a dream come true for a perpetually oily girl.  And with each day since, I’ve grown to love it even more.  I have come back from a lunch time Spin class covered in sweat and it’s still there, still looking great.  So, I’m sorry, Revlon Colorstay.  I was too quick to judge, and I should have given you another chance much sooner.  I don’t know how to put this but, you’re kind of a big deal.

Are you a Revlon Colorstay groupie?  If not, let me know what you didn’t like about it….and if you love it, feel free to sing its praises!

Image

No, I’m not a photographer.  I did this with my i-Phone and I know the quality sucks.  Please don’t judge me y’all.

